Edon’s Drew Gallehue and Gannon Ripke earned two of the top individual honors, Bob Olwin was tabbed coach of the year and the Bombers were well represented as the Toledo Area Athletic Conference released its selections for the 2021 football season.

Fourteen Edon players earned recognition, including several at multiple positions, after the Bombers won their first TAAC title in school history and completed their best playoff run as well (11-2 overall record, 3-0 TAAC).

Gallehue, a 6-foot-4, 220-pound senior quarterback, was named offensive player of the year and was a second-team punter/kicker as well. He threw for 4,977 passing yards, 58 touchdowns and eight interceptions on 325-of-478 passing (68 percent). He surpassed 300 passing yards in every game and added seven rushing touchdowns.

Gallehue’s 4,977 passing yards unofficially ranks sixth in OHSAA history, according to the association’s website. His 58 touchdowns in a season were 10th all time, while his 11,262 career passing yards and 142 passing touchdowns rank seventh and fourth, respectively, in those categories.

Ripke, a 6-1, 199-pound senior linebacker/wide receiver, earned defensive player of the year and was a first-team wideout. He had a team-high 150 tackles, four sacks and two interceptions.

Offensively this season, Ripke hauled in 103 receptions (tied for 17th in OHSAA history) for 1,809 yards (10th all time) and 21 touchdowns (tied for 15th all time). He also had five rushing touchdowns.

Olwin, a veteran mentor who finished his second year at Edon, led the Bombers to their first regional semifinal in school history. Edon earned back-to-back playoff wins for the first time (beat Spencerville 28-20 in first round and Antwerp 26-21 in quarterfinals) before falling to Lima Central Catholic 61-26 in a Division VII, Region 26 semifinal.

Edon senior Cassius Hulbert (6-3, 296) earned first-team honors along the offensive and defensive lines. He helped the Bombers’ offense average 41.5 points per game, and he had 122 total tackles on defense.

Edon senior Henley Dye (6-0, 200) was named first-team all-TAAC at linebacker after racking up 117 total tackles, one sack and one interception. Hayden Dye (5-11, 192, senior) was first team as a defensive back after tallying 47 tackles and two interceptions.

Montpelier and Hilltop each had a first-team selection along the line. The Locomotives’ Jamison Grime (6-2, 215, junior) was named first team as an offensive lineman, while Hilltop’s Ty Creamer (5-11, 195, senior) earned the honor as a defensive lineman.

Edon junior Caden Nester (54 catches, 879 yards, 12 touchdowns), senior Ethan Steinke (42, 638, 7) and Hayden Dye (71, 928, 9) each earned second-team all-TAAC at wide receiver, along with Hilltop senior Wyatt Beltz. Henley Dye and Montpelier junior Jacob Lamontagne were second team at running back.

Edon senior Jayden Craven and Creamer were named second team at offensive line. Grime, along with Edon juniors Jack Morris and Garrett Skiles, were second team at defensive line.

Beltz and Montpelier sophomore Ash Walz were tabbed second-team linebackers. Lamontagne and Hilltop senior Andyn Haynes earned second team at defensive back.

All-TAAC Football


QUARTERBACK — Drew Gallehue, sr., Edon. RUNNING BACKS — Blake Gnepper, sr., Ottawa Hills; Zaegan Byington, soph., Northwood. WIDE RECEIVERS — Gannon Ripke, sr., Edon; A.J. George, jr., Ottawa Hills; Jaden Moss, sr., Cardinal Stritch; Clarence Brown, sr., Cardinal Stritch. OFFENSIVE LINEMEN — Cassius Hulbert, sr., Edon; Sean Kovacs, jr., Northwood; John Parks, sr., Cardinal Stritch; Marquan Valentine, sr., Cardinal Stritch; Jack Vincente, soph., Ottawa Hills; Matthew Radlinski, sr., Ottawa Hills; Jamison Grime, jr., Montpelier. PUNTER/KICKER — Emilio Duran, jr., Ottawa Hills.


LINEBACKERS — A.J. George, jr., Ottawa Hills; Gannon Ripke, sr., Edon; Jarel Dixon, jr., Northwood; Henley Dye, sr., Edon; Gage Power, sr., Cardinal Stritch. DEFENSIVE BACKS — Mickey Asad, sr., Northwood; Jaden Moss, sr., Cardinal Stritch; Hayden Dye, sr., Edon; Clarence Brown, sr., Cardinal Stritch; Thomas Foust, sr., Cardinal Stritch. DEFENSIVE LINEMEN — Cassius Hulbert, sr., Edon; Sean Kovacs, jr., Northwood; Marquan Valentine, sr., Cardinal Stritch; Ty Creamer, sr., Hilltop; Kam Hughes, jr., Cardinal Stritch.

OFFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Drew Gallehue, sr., Edon.

DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Gannon Ripke, sr. Edon.

SPECIAL TEAMS PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Emilio Duran, jr., Ottawa Hills.

COACH OF THE YEAR — Bob Olwin, Edon.


QUARTERBACK — Thomas Foust, sr., Cardinal Stritch. RUNNING BACKS — Henley Dye, sr., Edon; Jacob Lamontagne, jr., Montpelier. WIDE RECEIVERS — Caden Nester, jr., Edon; Hayden Dye, sr., Edon; Ethan Steinke, sr., Edon; Wyatt Beltz, sr., Hilltop. OFFENSIVE LINEMEN — Jayden Craven, sr., Edon; Dakota Hawkins, sr., Northwood; Ty Creamer, sr., Hilltop; Jarel Dixon, jr., Northwood; Jaden Beckwith, sr., Cardinal Stritch; Gage Reed, jr., Northwood. PUNTER/KICKER — Drew Gallehue, sr., Edon.


LINEBACKERS — Wyatt Beltz, sr., Hilltop; Blake Gnepper, sr., Ottawa Hills; Jaden Beckwith, sr., Cardinal Stritch; Ash Walz, soph., Montpelier. DEFENSIVE BACKS — Andyn Haynes, sr., Hilltop; Jacob Lamontagne, jr., Montpelier; Idro Price, jr., Cardinal Stritch; Alex Howe, jr., Northwood. DEFENSIVE LINEMEN — Matt Radlinski, sr., Ottawa Hills; Jamison Grime, jr., Montpelier; Jack Morris, jr., Edon; Garrett Skiles, jr., Edon; Braden Alore, sr., Northwood.


CARDINAL STRITCH — Leo Hayden, Idro Price, Tim O’Rourke. EDON — Kole Olds, Parker Kelley, Kyler Sapp, Wade Parrish. HILLTOP — Hunter Leupp, Dalton Bauer, Tyzon Pelfrey, Brock Kesler. MONTPELIER — Brennen Friend, Carter Wade, Garrett Girrell. OTTAWA HILLS — Jack Perozek, Isaac Tavtigian, Ryan Halbig, Sean Brandt. NORTHWOOD — Carson Gutekunst, Mason Smith, A.J. Cruz, Joey Yarad.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.