Edon’s Drew Gallehue and Fairview’s Doug Rakes Jr., two quarterbacks who put up big-time numbers in leading their respective teams, earned the top offensive honors as the Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association released its all-Northwest District football selections for the 2020 season.

More than 20 area players earned recognition from the OPSWA media panel from the district.

Gallehue, a 6-foot-4, 215-pound junior, was named co-offensive player of the year in Division VII along with Lima Central Catholic’s Shaun Thomas. Gallehue, who threw for 2,900 yards and 38 touchdowns on 215-of-373 passing, led Edon to a 6-4 record and its first playoff win in school history after the Bombers beat Arcadia 34-7 in a Division VII, Region 26 first-round game.

Meanwhile, Rakes Jr. earned co-offensive player of the year in Division VI. The 6-0, 160-pound senior threw for 2,987 yards, 42 touchdowns and six interceptions on 202-of-294 passing (68.7 percent) and added 613 yards and 12 scores on the ground.

Rakes Jr. shared the honor with Ashland Crestview’s Ross Kuhn and Coldwater’s Myles Blasingame.

Fairview’s Doug Rakes earned co-coach of the year in Division VI after guiding the Apaches to a 9-1 overall record, including an unbeaten mark in the Green Meadows Conference and a runner-up finish in the Region 22 playoffs. North Robinson Colonel Crawford’s Ryan Teglovic and Northwood’s Ken James also earned co-coach of the year.

In the Division IV selections, Bryan’s Titus Rohrer was named first-team all-district as an offensive end. The 6-6, 248-pound senior hauled in 33 receptions for 454 yards and seven touchdowns.

Bryan senior Caleb Kepler notched second-team honors as a defensive back.

Fairview was well represented in the Division VI selections as Rakes Jr. was one of six players to earn first-team honors.

Senior end Caleb Frank (54 receptions, 894 yards, 10 touchdowns), senior offensive lineman Austin Bostater, senior defensive lineman Russ Zeedyk (28 tackles, three sacks, one interception), senior linebacker Aaron Layman (106 tackles, four sacks) and senior defensive back Luke Timbrook (69 tackles, two interceptions, two defensive touchdowns) were each first-team selections.

Senior offensive end Cade Ripke, senior offensive lineman Bryan Lucas, senior defensive lineman Wes Bowers and senior linebacker Caleb Skinner each earned second-team honors for Fairview. Kaden Blair and Noah Volz were named honorable mention for the Apaches.

Edon senior Dawson Kiess and Edgerton junior Gannon Ripke were named first-team all-district in Division VII at offensive end. Kiess collected 58 receptions for 710 yards and 14 touchdowns, while Ripke totaled 392 yards and four touchdowns on 25 receptions, as well as 804 yards and 11 touchdowns on 68 carries.

Edon senior Jobe Carlson was named first team at linebacker. Sophomore offensive end Caden Nester (57 receptions, 707 yards, 11 touchdowns) and junior offensive lineman Cassius Hulbert were second-team selections for the Bombers.

Edgerton senior Ashton Miler earned second-team honors at offensive line, while senior running back Craig Blue and senior defensive lineman Jordan Warner were named honorable mention for the Bulldogs.

Edon junior wideout Hayden Dye was also an honorable mention pick.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.