EDGERTON — Fairview’s Treyvon Hastings finished first among 51 boys cross country runners with a 16:43, while Edgerton’s girls (82) finished second as a team in the Green Meadows Conference Championship on Saturday at Miller Park in Edgerton.

“The goal today was to win, and I did that,” Hastings said. “Holgate, they’ve got some really good runners. So I figured I’d have some guys with me. It almost came down to the finish, but I was able to hold some guys off.

“I was definitely pleased with how I ran today.”

Holgate won the boys race with a 24 and five top-seven finishers for its third-straight GMC title. Richard Bower (16:45) finished second to lead the Tigers. Following him were Levi Zachrich (16:54) in fourth, Hayden Hartman (16:55) in fifth, Addison Casillas (16:55) in sixth and Bailey Sonnenberg (17:01) in seventh.

Hastings led the Apaches to third out of eight teams with 87 points. Following the lone senior on the team were Ethan Underwood (17:21) in 12th, Kyle Rabe (18:05) in 18th, Ethan Panico (18:39) in 24th and Carson Sims (19:02) in 32nd.

Hunter Burke led Edgerton’s boys to sixth (128) by placing 15th in 17:50. Kale Merillat (17:52) was 17th, Cole Meyer (18:47) 26th, Hayden Herman (18:59) 31st and Mason Goebel (19:35) 39th to round out the Bulldogs’ score.

Tinora (47) finished second with a 47, while Antwerp (126) was fourth. Ayersville (128) placed fifth, Hicksville (185) seventh and Wayne Trace (215) eighth.

Stefanie Thiel (20:29) placed fifth among 48 girls runners to lead Edgerton, while Ashlee Hug finished right behind her with a 20:31 in sixth.

Natalie Kellogg (22:32) got 17th, while Anna Vermillion (23:32) took 25th and Holly Stark (24:32) 33rd to complete the Bulldogs’ score.

Fairview’s girls had two top-seven finishers with Cassie Mavis (20:24) in fourth and Samantha Rohrs (20:44) in seventh. Summer Krill (23:19) in 22nd, Karrie Smith (23:42) in 26th and Brook Mavis (28:00) in 44th rounded out the Apaches’ fifth-place finish of 99 points.

Holgate’s girls won with a 59, thanks to two top-10 finishers with Elisabeth Willett (20:02) placing second and Kaylynn Ashbaugh (20:48) taking 10th. Cora Schwab (22:21) in 15th, Hannah Swary (22:23) in 16th and Kathleen Hernandez (23:00) in 21st gave the Tigers the title.

After Holgate and Edgerton, Antwerp placed third with a 91. Tinora (91) finished fourth, Wayne Trace (116) sixth and Ayersville (132) seventh. Hicksville did not field a full team.

Tinora’s Lauren Battler finished first individually in 19:53.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.