The Ohio High School Athletic Association announced Wednesday it has adjusted the game times for the remaining state football championship games this weekend in order to assist with Ohio Gov. Mike DeWine’s 10 p.m. statewide curfew order.

Friday and Saturday’s games will start at 1:15 p.m. and 6:15 p.m., instead of 2 p.m. and 7 p.m. as previously announced.

Sunday’s games will kick off at 12:15 p.m. and 5:15 p.m., instead of noon and 5 p.m., so all six games will have a consistent pregame timing format.

Teams and fans can still travel home after 10 p.m., but the OHSAA’s goal is to have the stadium closed by 10 p.m.

“We want to support the Governor’s curfew order,” OHSAA Executive Director Doug Ute said in a release. “Kicking off earlier will help ensure that everyone has left the stadium by 10:00 Friday and Saturday night.

“We’ll need a sense of urgency to leave the facility after those games, but we don’t want to take away from the postgame experience. We are so excited to host the football state championship games this weekend and complete the fall season, so we want to help with the curfew order to leave the stadium by 10:00.”

DeWine on Tuesday announced he would institute a 21-day curfew effective today. The curfew is from 10 p.m. to 5 a.m., although it does not apply to those going to or from work, those who have an emergency or those who need medical care, among other exceptions.

The Division VII state championship between New Bremen (9-2) and Warren John F. Kennedy (9-2) kicks off this weekend’s games at 1:15 p.m. Friday. The Division II championship between Massillon Washington (10-1) and Akron Archbishop Hoban (10-0) will be at 6:15 p.m. Friday.

Saturday’s 1:15 and 6:15 p.m. games will be the Division V championship between Kirtland (10-0) and Ironton (11-0) and the Division III title game featuring Columbus St. Francis DeSales (9-1) and Chardon (11-0), respectively.

Van Wert (10-1) will compete in the Division IV championship against Mentor Lake Catholic (8-2) at 12:15 p.m. Sunday. New Middletown Springfield (11-0) and Coldwater (11-0) will battle for the Division VI championship at 5:15 p.m. Sunday.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.