• Sara Carder of Ney recently graduated magna cum laude from Manchester University with a Bachelor of Science in biology chemistry.

• Local students recently graduated from Trine University. Graduates included Jacob Dewire of Montpelier, majoring in design engineering technology; Alex Kirkingburg of Montpelier, majoring in elementary education; Zoe Koch of Alvordton, majoring in design engineering technology; Kyle Long of Edon, majoring in social studies education; Jalen Grier of Bryan, majoring in engineering management; and Branden Turner of Pioneer, majoring in elementary education.

• Students at Trine University were recently named to the dean’s list for the spring 2019 term. To earn dean’s list honors, main campus students must have completed a minimum of 15 hours and have a GPA of 3.5 to 3.749. Local honorees included Colleen Bell of West Unity, majoring in biomedical engineering; Ethan Blank of Montpelier, majoring in general studies; Bradey Clair of Montpelier, majoring in accounting; Alex Layman of Ney, majoring in civil engineering; Katelin Miller of Edon, majoring in psychology; Kira Pettit of West Unity, majoring in criminal justice; Charles Roberts of Edon, majoring in mathematics; Trenton Sakos of Pioneer, majoring in criminal justice; Hope Scholma of Montpelier, majoring in biomedical engineering; Alexander Sliter of Bryan, majoring in health and physical education; and Maria Steffel of Sherwood, majoring in computer engineering.

Local students were also named to the president’s list. To earn president’s list honors, main campus students must complete a minimum of 15 hours and have a GPA of 3.75 to 4.0. Local honorees included: Jordan Birdsall of Montpelier, majoring in elementary education; Logan Deel of Bryan, majoring in biology; Logan Matthews of Montpelier, majoring in elementary education; Harsh Patel of Montpelier, majoring in marketing; David Pinc of Alvordton, majoring in informatics; Trista Savage of Bryan, majoring in elementary education; and William Steffel of Sherwood, majoring in mechanical engineering.

Northwest State Community College has announced its spring semester dean’s list. To be eligible, students must have taken at least 12 credit hours as a full-time student, or 6-11.99 as a part-time student, and have averaged above a 3.5 GPA. Honorees included: Alvordton: Brent Schelling. Blakesleee: Zoe Neubig. Bryan: Teddy Ackerman, Rebecca Addington, Cheryl Andres, Joshua Balzer, Kody Bell, Allison Boles, Angelina Bowman, Kelsie Bowman-Schwartz, Brooks Brown, Sloane Brown, Corey Cassidy, Tanner Clingaman, Madyson Covington-Benline, Joseph Dempsey, Paul Diaz, Alexia Dietsch, Jeremy Durdel, Julie Eitniear, Katelyn Farrell, Megan Ferguson, Kelsey Frederick, Anthony Gendron, Drew Grimm, Megan Grimm, McKenna Grube, Eric Guzman, Malorie Heer, Madison Johnson, Caitlin Kelley, Alexander Kizer, Allison Koby, Baylee Krupp, Tara Landis, Tyler Manon, Keegan McCashen, Noah Meyer, Ava Moats-Landis, Jessica Mueller, Erica Murray, Kyleigh O’Brien, Autumn Owens, Keghan Pettit, Leah Pitman, Brendan Reiser, Scott Rinell, Jeremiah Rios, Steven Sabins, Bradley Sampson, Jeremy Shafer, Megan Smith, Spencer Sunderland, Halle Tisovic, Matthew Tisovic, Jessica Trausch, Rachel Webb, Tia Whitman, Xiao Xie, Matthew Yochum II and Haylee Zehr. Evansport: Shane Mack. Montpelier: Guy Ankney, Austin Batt, Joseph Bohner, Michael Borton, Ian Cox, Dennis Cupp, Jillian Dominique, Jorden Douglass, Jacob Earle, Addison Elser, Connor Funk, Amanda Haines, Autumn Jermeay, Jenna Keesecker, Hailey Layman, Logan Mckelvey, Colin Rockey, Josef Sanders, Andrea Vankham, Brad Wiyrick, Kaitlyn Wonders and Brianne Young. Ney: Harmony Bell, Kinsey Dietrich, Matthew Heinze, Jonathan McCoy, Nicholas Rhodes, Haley Robbins, Heather Siders, Joy Smith, Joy Smith, Ethan Thompson, Sheila Worthington. Pioneer: Madyson Bonney, Alex Cummins, Emilie Eustace, Brooke Felt, Brandon Moore, Laura Moore, Tyler Pannell, Adrian Salazar and Val Weed. Sherwood: Isaac Ankney, Adam Grant-Gubbins, Nicholas Keesbury, Cary Mallett, Kaitlyn Mallett, Cory McGlaughlin and Eric Shininger. Stryker: Colin Anders, Keetyn Ayers, Haylee Dickerson, Kylie Green, Brandi Nafziger, Carrington Pierce, Rigo Ramos, Nathaniel Rodriguez, Kaid Woolace. West Unity: Brianna Bell, Alec Brock, Evelyn Brock, Shayla Coffman, Olof Fleming, Blake Funkhouser, James Garrett, Jeremy Hartman, Andrea Kirkham, Nash Kuney, Kacee Larry, Miranda Merillat, Alexander Montague, Ingrid Peters, Joel Sauber, Levi Smith, Patrick Weber.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.